Starting your day off with Breath, Breakfast, and Movement!

This is it. The most important lesson anyone can teach you (or that I can teach myself).  The importance of balancing your mind, body, and spirit in the morning is so HUGE!  A lot of people who want to lose weight, or those that “really think they don’t have time” just rush into their day, their office, or their kids’ school or a playground, with nothing to eat!  That’s like, um, ahem, THE WORST thing you could do.  And if we are rushing around stressed we can also injure ourselves by not breathing or stretching properly.

Singing and running go hand in hand for me.  That’s why I have to have music.  Sometimes music can be too loud, if it’s over the nature soundtrack (birds, ocean, forest) or if it’s too distracting and you can’t hear the gym instructor (or the yogi reminding you to breathe).  I was just helping my neighbor who is taking the instructor course at Yoga House.  I don’t know anything about teaching yoga, but she happily reminds me to breathe in and breathe out, and that’s number 1!  Proper breath control helps us to sing better and run better!

My friend Melissa and her friends Jen and people from Whole Foods and Karen from The Family Room all reminded us how important it is to breathe, move, and eat a properly balanced diet before, during and after pregnancy at a prenatal workshop last week. (I’m trying to conceive, so I want to get stronger before baby comes).

So, I was super excited to be invited to a yoga event in Santa Monica a couple weeks ago.  My friends Melissa (mentioned above) and Lyndsay invited me to be a part of this beautiful morning at Exhale Spa at the Fairmont Hotel.

IMG_3254 IMG_3256

Wow was it an absolute blissfully perfect day or what?!  The weather was gorgeous (we stretched on the pool deck overlooking the ocean) and we had delicious breakfast oatmeal and protein bars from Argo tea and  THINK THIN.  

IMG_3259

First they had free valet parking and we checked out the nice gym above the hotel.

IMG_3258 IMG_3257

Then we grabbed coffee or tea, and afterwards they gave us wonderful SWAG bags with an exhale week pass!  The yoga teacher was excellent, and started out a lovely stretch for 30min. and then we ate.  But most importantly, I got to meet one of my heroes, Andrea Metcalf from the Women’s Forum! She shared with us how vital it is to start our day with a balanced breakfast and a good breathing stretch or some way to move.  She teaches amazing classes in Chicago and I got to try her video “pt2go!” where you can choose from lots of great exercises for personal trainers or training yourself.

IMG_3260 IMG_3270 IMG_3253

Leave a Reply

