How Taking the Leap changed my life

My phone dinged and buzzed while I was at work.  I was shaking as I read my friend THE BALANCED BRUNETTE‘S texts and I checked my email…

PrAna and Fit Approach had drawn my name in the Take the Leap Yoga challenge.  What does this mean?

11011432_10153006889695873_9078626455347027988_n

It means I did yoga and or meditation for 30 days and I absolutely ate it up!  It means I feel stronger and healthier!  It meant that I am 100% more relaxed and at peace with things like:  financial anxiety, trying to conceive, work stress, my cousin’s wedding& other events, and my grandmother’s passing. All of these things in the past used to stress me out and I would turn to food. But learning more yoga and slowing down to breathe and meditate really have helped!!

The thing I’m learning about yoga…no, from meditation…no, about LIFE in general, is that we are all on a different journey and path in life…  We tend to compare ourselves, online, internally, in person, share openly or keep it private, but yes, we do compare… I know I do.  But when I do yoga, I finally surrendered all those thoughts.  I just gave in, I said, “No longer am I going to pick myself apart and say that I’m too crazy squirrel to do this!”  (We joke in my spin class that sometimes we go too fast like a crazy squirrel, like a crazed hamster in its wheel)!

For the month of February, I really did slow down.  I purposefully and mindfully walked and ate and tried to talk slower! I breathed more and listened more and took in more of the world around me.  For Lent I’m reading more and eating cleaner and less sugar.  It means that I don’t rush so much from room to room or place to place.  I also got more organized with the help of Thirty One bags and I am learning essential oils and doing more therapeutic things like stamps or scrapbooking.  In February I started using the Passion Planner and I do my to do lists daily.  I am learning to set achievable goals.  In February I set aside time to have real date nights and am making time for girls nights.  In February I became more Content – learning and listening to God’s love!  Yoga has helped me so much in this area- becoming more in tune with His Spirit and the voice of reason! Bringing awareness to good causes, to my husband’s voice and to positive thoughts!  I used to try and do, now I slowly take in.  I have heard “Christians shouldn’t do Yoga” or “Yoga is only for Hindu or B’Hai or Hippies or…” (fill in the blank!)  I have heard it all.  Now I believe that anyone can do it! I even tried Stick Yoga which is excellent for seniors, I tried different styles of teachers and videos and am now doing Osho‘s meditations and learning so much more.  I wanted to go to my new friend Spoken Yoga ‘s  event (but I had a family thing and didn’t make it) where they did WRITING AND BREATHING AND YOGA ALL TOGETHER!!

x-all-the-y-meme-generator-yoga-stretch-all-the-things-34e438

I used to think Yoga was only for strong people of a certain religion or its only for very slender people who don’t have ADHD:). Now I am getting it.  I am seeing that it’s good for everyone to do, whether it’s taking a class, finding a video, studying a word or a verse or holding a pose for a moment or a minute or for five.

I learned so many new poses and networked and followed some inspiring and motivational yogis!!  I met new friends and am enjoying this journey so much.

IT MEANS THAT one of my friends and I WON THE $$gift card$$ to PrAna!!!

Leave a Reply

