Building Confidence one step at a time

I think I hide behind my loud mouth. What?

That doesn’t really make sense.  I know.  I am outgoing and bubbly, drawn to shy quiet types (so I draw them out of their shell and they calm me), but I use that as a shield or guard- like a nervous habit.

At work the other day, I brought up the whole “Tao of Winnie the Pooh” ideas that author Benjamin Hoff points out.  I am definitely a TIGGER who can be too annoying and overbearing but everyone loves him.  Except that we drive type As like RABBIT Crazy! We are too much for Debbie Downer EEYOREs. Have you heard of this? Read the book? Ever compared yourself to cartoons?:) (Actually, my granny read A.A. Milne to us as kids…!)

I have been doing Chalene Johnson’s 30days PUSH challenge with the help of motivating people like Mandie and Jessica (my blogger friend from HappyisHealthy).  She talks about confidence and confidence building techniques. A LOT.

One thing about depression and anxiety is that it brought my confidence level to an all time low.  When I lost a lot of weight (stopped over eating, started working out, and took Reliv supplements) I gained a lot of confidence back.

This year I have tried to eat more clean, raw vegetables and started really getting into HIIT and heavy workouts.  This helped my confidence, but at the same time, I wasn’t careful and I was tired one day and that’s how I HURT my back.  Lately my confidence has been kind of low (not blogging as much, not posting as many pics, and starting to slide back into the whole negative self talk thing) because “all I’ve been able to do is walk or bike 30minutes” or “just in Physical Therapy” or “just yoga.”  See my post Goals, lists and Guilt for more info on this.  As long as I don’t fall into overeating and beating myself up and stop walking! Ugh! This past week we were swamped at work so I BARELY made my step goal, I barely even did HALF of my step goal:(  Do you think there’s an evil sign in this? Look at this pic from this past Wednesday:IMG_9429

Anyway where am I going with all this?

When I posted a selfie today on instagram, I got sweet comments and encouragement from my sisters and friends.  I was surprised that people are still noticing my hard work, but I want to help others.  I want this blog to reach people so that someone sitting on the couch eating cheetos or crying into her icecream will jump up and do a pushup, walk down the block, or stretch for 10 minutes.   As I tell my piano students, 15 minutes will not only save you on car insurance, it will save your fingers!  As the FLY lady says, “You can do anything in 15 minutes!”

This weekend I’ve lounged around in my pj’s and sweats long enough.  (AND it’s not even that cold here!) Let’s go MOVE just for 15 minutes! Set a timer, turn up the music, if the weather is harsh just walk around your home and stretch!  When other people lift me up in a positive way, I want to spread that love and joy.  My friend has been teaching me all about essential oils and what they have to offer (considering I’m ADHD, prone to anxiety and depression, struggle every month hormonally, and have a history of back and neck trauma and headache pain), I’m excited to share these and other things that have helped me. I don’t wanna keep the secrets in, and hide in my home.  Winter weather (rain, cold, etc.) all keep me in bed, but when the sun is out or when others around me are working out, it makes me excited to MOVE!

Let’s get off our duffs and go MOVE!  My tree is up, there’s nothing more important than taking care of ourselves and our families!

Leave a Reply

