<3 Hemp Hearts <3

Hey guys! So, as a part of the Sweat Pink campaign, I received a sample of the Manitoba Hemp Hearts to test, and review. I did not get paid, and all my opinions are my own.

IMG_8701

My heart fell in love with these little guys:). I have tried hemp in the past, and sometimes it smells or tastes a little too strong. These I didn’t mind the light flavor and loved the crunchy-chewy feel they added to my smoothies, salad, yogurt, cereal, and my energy ball bites I made(recipe taken from their website:

Energy Bites

 Ingredients
  • 1 cup oatmeal (not quick cooking)
  • 1/2 cup nut butter (I chose almond but you can use homemade hemp butter)
  • 1/3 cup agave (could use honey if you don’t want them vegan)
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life mini’s)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of Hemp Hearts (to roll the energy bites in)

Directions

Put all ingredients in one bowl, mix, and roll them in Hemp Hearts. Then let chill for 30 minutes in the fridge.

Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to a week (but I doubt they will last that long in your house).

Recipe courtesy of My Naturally Frugal Family – http://mynaturallyfrugalfamily.blogspot.com/2011/10/hempy-tuesday.html

IMG_8713

They were a nice addition to so many things! I added them to a couple soups, to different meals for added protein, and even my husband was on board. He didn’t really notice at first, then afterwards, he was scraping and licking each and every last one at the bottom of the bowl.

Best News EVER: Until the end of November, Manitoba Harvest is sponsoring a 20% discount code with Fit Approach, LLC Sweat Pink: HHSweatpink14

IMG_8703

I even got the chance to talk to Manitoba’s Sarah, who told me they are sponsoring my first GIVEAWAY!! (Post to come!)

3 thoughts on “<3 Hemp Hearts <3

  1. Nice and informative post. can you post the recipe for the soup with hemp? We love hemp and every evening we simply have the hemp with astro Balkan yogurt. we buy it from Costco it’s cheaper.

  2. Pingback: My Very First Giveaway! | spillingcoffee 'n droppingthings

Leave a Reply

