Getting my runner’s high

I’ve been wanting to get into trail running (feels better on my joints than the pavement) and I actually have been running more! I slow down on hills but have been pushing myself to do more of them.
On Monday I met my friend at the Pasadena Rosebowl but it got way too hot and dry and sunny real quick! She is a sprinter and I’m a distance person but we made it work(she does body weight exercises till I catch up with her).
Yesterday we tried it again but found the shady trail that goes back behind the golf course. It was so beautiful, like out of the Shyre storybooks!
I have been working later and stressing out so I need my sleep but now with the warmer months I should run earlier. If I wake early I could make it to Griffith and explore those trails.
Because of my allergies I do tend to run on the treadmill though. It actually increases my speed and I go stretch or do weights or yoga too(because the gym has it all right there, makes it easier).
What are your tips for trail running and hills and speed work? I am slow but I do love to run!
By the way, because it was sibling day, check out my spiritual blog for women over at sheismymuse.wordpress.com (yesterday’s post), and my last post here about CSA and community resources, like The Seasonal Diet

20140411-074043.jpg

4 thoughts on “Getting my runner’s high

  1. Hi Christiana, I tried finding your spiritual blog @ sheismymuse.blogspot.com. That didn’t look like that was it:( Is there something else I need to type in. I like reading your “spillingcoffee’ndroppingthing” posts:) I would like to read your spiritual blog as well:) Thanks, Faith

    Date: Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:41:24 +0000 To: faithmyhrer@hotmail.com

  2. I have no advice because I’m a newer runner and very slooooww, but it’s great that you’ve found trail running and enjoy it more! I’ve mainly run on pavement, but my first ever 5K was a trail run. I was a little thrown off by it then, but I agree that it can be nicer on the joints, feet, etc.

    Thank you so much for your tweet about BlogFest! It was so sweet and made me feel so good. Are you going?

Leave a Reply

