What a week!

Today I woke feeling like a truck rolled over me. My cold has worsened. After being lazy in bed all morning, I had a light, healthy, fruity breakfast and I meditated and took a bath. After brushing my hair and putting on a skirt, we went to go file our taxes and decided to get sushi, green tea and miso. We walked downtown and enjoyed seeing several wedding parties taking pictures at City Hall.
Yesterday I thought I was feeling well enough to work, so we took a walk. I was happy to be back and they said I was missed and so I felt appreciated. Last night I thought to myself, “maybe work wasn’t the best idea” but glad I went because I got a lot done. I made my 12,000 steps a day goal!
Thursday I took a walk, but still wasn’t feeling well enough to work. I was coughing a lot. I made a delicious chicken vegetable herbal spice soup&fresh salsa! I am very grateful for produce, for glorious tea, for rest, for my haven (a.k.a my bedroom!)! If you’ve been following along with the mnbchallenge it was Thankful Thursday!
Wednesday this low rumble cough and sore throat had my energy down to zero. I was happy to rest because my body and a headache showed me I truly needed it. I didn’t have a temperature, but felt sore and achy and hormonally a mess. The mnbchallenge was to Be Happy so, I was literally so happy to make a healthy smoothie and happy to lay low in front of the tv and my books. I was happy to watch my show Criminal Minds and some Olympics. These Olympian athletes are amazing, but Winter Olympics scare me even more, with all the dangerous risks, the injuries and ice and crazy slopes!
Tuesday was 5minute Mindful Day, so I woke to meditate and I did my nails. I spent time in the sauna (after spin and Bodypump) and meditated and stretched at lunch. By Tuesday night I was worried I may be coming down with something but couldn’t figure out what was going on!
Monday I pampered and spoiled myself by lighting a candle and making tea as I woke to fresh cold ice lemon water. Sunday I had filled a bunch of water bottles with fruit and ginger. Monday I made it to the gym early so I stretched in the sauna. I spent longer than usual doing hair and makeup and wearing earrings. Anything extra nice like that makes me feel like I’m spoiling myself. The NTC class was really good and challenging too! I even treated myself to a piece of dark chocolate.
This challenge has really motivated me to keep my attitude into check this week. Lately I have been really irritable, thinking it was my hormones and my circumstantial stress. But that shouldn’t be my excuse. If I’m just excusing it with, “I’m being real! I’m not covering it up pretending to be happy!” But inside or in private I’m moody and griping, grumbling my way through life, that’s not a way to live either. Now I’m waking up excited to read and write, meditate and go walk, stretch or work out. I’m so thankful for a good job, my home, and my loving husband. I’m thankful for even little things, the beautiful weather, my friends and loved ones far away. I choose joy and contentment in the midst of sickness, job loss, headache, and even in bad news in the airways. Thank you, Lorna Jane & FitApproach, for helping change my perspective in life!

Leave a Reply

