Converse, butts, and more buts

Monday was Meatless Monday (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner!) according to the MNBChallenge.  

Tuesday was not only Take Your Lunch to Work Day, but I found out good news.  If you know me, you know I absolutely love my Converse All Star Chuck Taylor shoes.  I love that they are timeless, cute, and to me, comfortable.  They are stylish and classic, fun and sporty.  I wouldn’t run in them but I love swing dancing in them.  I wanted to wear them for my wedding but my wonderful tailor friend said “Uhh, no, sorry you can’t wear flats after I’ve tailored this lace to your heels!”  (I Hate, loathe, high heels.  Haven’t found a pair that feel remotely comfortable for me to walk in!  I think wedges are “okay” and I wish I could walk in heels but I cannot!)  However, I quickly got rid of several beloved pairs when someone (a Physical Therapist) I trusted said “They aren’t supportive you know!  You should only wear shoes that are supportive!”  And because one Converse addict I knew had switched to Keens (also very cute and comfortable).  Then, all of a sudden my friend Jo, a spin teacher and fabulous fit chick, posted a pic of her in her chucks on Leg Day.  I was like, “Woah wait what?! Stop the press!  They are ok to wear to the gym?! How come I never heard of this?!”  She said that when you are lifting you want to feel close to the floor (I had always been afraid to lift barefoot and thought I would drop a weight or a barbell on my toes!)! 

On Tuesday, my coworker, a Physical Therapist, actually verified this.  He had heard that people wear them for weight lifting.  We talked about how they used to be “THE” basketball shoe back in the day.  He had read my blog post “Converse Flag” from 11/10/13 and wanted to let me know they aren’t all that bad.  I even google-researched it (one of my new favorite things to do!) and look what I found: bodybuilding.com has a forum thread going about it.  People are talking about it over on fitnessinventor, shore strength fitness, reddit, yahoo answers, anabolicminds, and on athleticx.   I’m happy and sharing this good news with you: that I can wear whatever shoes I want, and you can wear whatever is comfortable and fitting for you, too!:-D I love when people grant me the freedom to do what I enjoy instead of being all “judgy”!

Wednesday was What I Ate Wednesday.  I am terrible at food journaling.  I conveniently forget, or I forget one important item, or I lose track of time and my head is hitting the pillow when I remember to log.  I know there’s cute journals and fun apps, but I am still not caught up. 

Thursday was Smoothie day! I filled my elite cuisine with spinach, flax, chia, kale, 1 cutie, blackberries, blueberries, and chocolate coconut milk.  Smoothies are usually whatever produce I have on hand! I actually made it to yoga on time and right there I almost cried. The instructor, with his beautiful, deep, rich voice said to allow the emotions to flow, let it all come out in a healthy way before you begin your day. Lately I have been frustrated dealing with the stresses of life, and right there I breathed a huge sigh of relief, allowing myself to feel free. Wow was it ever healing!

All that being said, I’ve never paid much attention to my glutes.  I was reading Runner’s World on Friday and they talk about strengthening your glutes to protect your hamstrings while running.  I’ve made a new goal: to warm up by going up and down stairs and/or on a stair master and doing a lot of squats (properly)!  I usually run with my Saucony Guide 7s or my Pumas, not with my Chucks.:)

Today I ran a slow jog and took a walk in the park with my husband.  I have way too many excuses (but there were hills! But I was tired! But I had a beer last night and felt sluggish! BUT!)  We just watched “The Pursuit of Happyness” and thoroughly enjoyed it.  We were meant to watch it, since my husband is looking for work.  It lifted our spirits! 

Have a good rest of the weekend, Friends! Go put on your shoes(whichever are most comfy!) and take a few more steps than you did yesterday!

 

20140216-101854.jpg

Leave a Reply

