A week’s wrinkle in time

At the physical therapy place I work at, my coworker (a hardworking PT aide) made a big bulletins board of “50 reasons to exercise.” One of the main reasons is stress!
I had a stressful week. Actually 2014 has already been stressful. At work we have gotten even busier, while people like my husband are wearing themselves out by looking for work. Then I ran into a very small car window issue which made my financial worries seem worse, but my husband graciously got it fixed inexpensively. My heart wasn’t really into my reading or meditation nor happy to chat with my family(we instant message and text through the week). The only thing that rescued me from my funk?
My #mnbchallenge from Lorna Jane and Fit Approach !
On Monday, I went running since I knew I had to be at my doctor’s appointment and didn’t have time to go to the gym. I enjoyed the beauty of the views, but hills still slow me down. Running has been my love since middle school. I had a time where I didn’t run, but that’s because depression seemed to keep me on the couch. I love the results I get from running, I love the natural beauty outside, and I love the high I get after sprinting on a treadmill. I love minimalist trail running, running barefoot in the grass, and I love running on the beach because even though it is a huge challenge, the ocean calms me. The Move, nourish, body challenge from LornaJane and FitApproach motivated me to post my favorite way to sweat, which is running.
Tuesday I went to my favorite spin class. I love how the group instructors do the work for you and a good teacher cheers you and plays good songs, helping you learn proper form while you sweat. Normally I stay for Bodypump class, but MNBchallenge told me to mix it up, so my friend and I did everything from box jumping, kettlebells, weighted medicine ball throws, to TRX plank-push-ups, to ropes(snakes), and foam rolling.
Wednesday was my funk day where I stressed about my car, could not read or enjoy my day, had a rude patient at work, BUT my Nike training class and walk up and down 9 flights of stairs saved my day. I had a nice evening with my husband and 4 friends. Nike training is like a circuit training boot camp, a crazy hard challenging cardio and strength mix of insanity!
Thursday I am glad I joined my friend at the gym because the MNBchallenge was to work out with your buddy. I was late, but made it to Bodypump. She was setting up for me and we laughed and took cute selfies. She is always gorgeous with perfect hair and makeup and nails! AND she is a working mom!
Friday I went to the insane Bootcamp with Jill at 24hr. Jill is super tough, an adorable mom, and amazingly strong. She likes making us do things like chest to deck push-ups, manmakers(Marines do this crazy burpee!), and I get super sweaty and bit all kinds of walls, but I still keep going back for more.
This morning I went to run and do a quick fitocracy workout, then walked through Americana (the outdoor mall).
How do you see fitness, running, exercises, yoga helping your stress?
How do you survive a stressful week?
What is your favorite stress reliever? (And don’t say food unless it’s vegetables;))

Leave a Reply

