What I think about while working out

Have you read “What I think about while running” by H. Murakami? Such a good book! This morning during 24 Hour fitness’ Nike training class (taught by PIT Fit PT Tawna; a HIIT and circuit-boot camp drill type class) I got to thinking. When I don’t have a lot of time I do 30minutes on the boring elliptical or treadmill, or jog or hike outside, but I’m usually slow, unmotivated, or disinterested. I sing in my head to my music. I know friends that watch or listen or read things but I get distracted, clumsy, or bored! Truth is I don’t get full workout benefits – and when I go into the gym weight room (even if I look up workouts on Pinterest) or stay home, I do it so half heartedly and therefore I’m not challenging myself.
Early this morning I felt sleepy and did not want to go to the gym. I was tired and not awake, not interested.
Until I got there! Once I’m in class sweating and huffing and puffing I feel alive, awake, and full of energy! I don’t know what it is about a group exercise class that really gets me going (it could be spin or a weights class, yoga or swing dancing) because I don’t feel like talking in the morning either! But it really truly pushes me. I don’t know if it’s the mirrors because sometimes in spin it’s dark. I don’t know if it’s their music because I have good playlists and I don’t always like all the songs they play either.
This morning helped me “get up and go!” A good teacher, good music and friends or even just gym acquaintances literally turns me on to exercise! It wakes me up for work. When I don’t have a class and I meet a friend I sometimes go hard but not always go all out. So I don’t know why, but I’m trying to figure it out.
I think about healthy meals, I think about my day ahead, I sing in my head, and I think about form and technique. I listen and watch the teacher and am inspired by the people around me. I tell myself to keep pushing, keep going, and I don’t like drill sergeants but I yell at my own self inside my mind.
Once I looked at my friend and said “Come on girl!” And she yelled back, “I’m coming I’m coming!” It made me laugh.
Exercise actually cheers me up because I know I’m taking care and being kind to myself even though it feels like I’m beating myself up a bit!
I think about my husband cycling up hills, I think about the sermon at church on Sunday. My mind starts to run as I start to pick up speed. I’m not very competitive but I just want to keep up, maintain my weight, and feel good. I want to be strong so that I can kick some aggression or stress out, too.
I am thankful for A/C because even though it’s lovely outside every now and then an A/C breaks and it’s humid and I can’t breathe.
But really I am grateful to be alive and healthy!

Leave a Reply

